top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarter H

Painting with hand limitations

I've loved painting my whole life. As I've grown older, my hand and arm complications have grown as a result of my connective tissue disorder, Ehlers-Danlos syndrome (EDS). Every painting in this post was done using only my non-dominant hand in recovery from my first hand surgery.


green painting with leaves and pink/blue/yellow/purple flowers

When I was a kid, I had a hard time learning to hold pencils properly because of my hyperextending fingers. By high school, I had tendinitis in both arms and instability in many hand and wrist joints. It took until I was 20 years old before my EDS diagnosis, and then my first hand surgeries. I began experiencing an intermittent tremor in my hands, too. Continuing to embrace art as a means of coping with pain and challenges was an obvious decision, but so was finding accommodations.


painting of cacti under cloudy blue sky

I have learned to use foam tubing grips on my pencils and paint brushes; began wearing splints, braces, and compression gloves as needed; and take more frequent and longer breaks in making art. I switched to using a fountain pen instead of ballpoint pens or pencils when possible because it takes less pressure to write with. I have embraced finger painting when it is too hard to grip pens or brushes. These changes have opened so many more options as an artist!


painting of green skull and leaves on red/yellow/orange background

I definitely have experienced days where creating seems impossible because of pain, fatigue, or other symptoms. I have less and less of these days since starting to to accept my disabilities, find treatment plans, and create accommodations with my medical team and other patients. I also adjust my goals on challenging days. Sometimes being an artist is painting all day and night, and sometimes art is making a bed just right. Both are equally important.


green  ground and mountains under cloudy sunset sky

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page