top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarter H

Making ring splints

Updated: Aug 31, 2023

For many people with hypermobility in their hands, ring splints* can be incredibly helpful. As an artist, it made more sense for me to create my own than to buy them. It makes a fun challenge and can save time and money while giving choices to customize them to my fingers and style! After I saw other artists making their own, I played with a few variations to settle on what worked best for me. I started making mine with beads and copper wire and have experimented with a couple other metals and variations.


assorted pliers, dowels, mandrel, wire, and sandpaper near hand wearing ring splints
Materials

First, the materials I use:

  • Ring mandrel (alternatively, a dowel or other ring-sized round object to wrap wire around)

  • Round wire (copper is most affordable and easier to bend with unstable fingers)

  • Pliers (cutter, needle nose, and round nose)

  • (optional) sandpaper or beads

Here's my steps:


wire circled around butterfly-shaped bead

First, I wrap a bead for the top end. This is decorative, but it also prevents the sharp end from poking the skin or catching on anything during wear.


wire with bead wrapped around ring sizer

Next, I wrap two loops at the ring size for the end of my finger. Just once may do for some joints, but I prefer twice for extra support on my more hypermobile joints.


beaded wire wrapped around ring sizer in 2 sizes

Next, I wrap the wire twice around the wider, bottom ring size. There will naturally be a wire line across the back side, and this is the part that supports the joint.


wire wrapped around 2 ring sizes with beads at both ends

Next, I cut the wire with a little excess and wrap it around another bead. This step is optional, but keeps the wire's end from poking out.

Finally, I remove the wrap. I fold the bead on the smaller side backwards so that the wire adornment does not rub on the nail bed. At this stage, I also bend the loops into more of a "V" shape and make slight adjustments so that it fits snugly onto my finger. Once it feels comfortable and does not let my finger hyperextend, I know it's ready for everyday use!


ring splint with wire crossed across inside of joint

two ring splints on white hand

Variations and notes on materials:

  • Amount of wire: It takes me about 11 inches of wire for one of these rings, so cutting about 12-14 depending on finger size and style makes sense. I will otherwise typically just leave it on the spool while I adjust it into my ring sizes and just cut it at the end.

  • Metal choice: Copper is a great starting wire for these rings. I use 18g round wire because copper it is more affordable and easier to bend, though 16g would work just as well. I have also used sterling silver, which does not tarnish so easily or turn green and is less likely to have common metal allergy reactions. Wire must be round, not half round, because half round and other shapes with edges can dig into skin uncomfortably. Titanium is an excellent option, but with hand pain it is much more challenging to work with unless it is pre-softened because it is a harder metal. Harder metals hold their shape better, but will be harder to bend. In order, the picture below this section shows how I did titanium, silver, and copper rings.

  • Amount of loops: With softer metals like copper or a dead soft silver, I do 2-3 loops, cross over, then do 2-3 loops again as pictured in examples. Depending on how it feels as I initially adjust it, with some softer wire I will add another cross back down to the initial loops so it forms an X shape instead of just a slash. With a harder metal like titanium, I can get away with just one loop, cross up, and do another single loop because it holds its shape much better.

  • Shaping the final ring: I fiddle around with all my rings to get just the right angle to fit my hand and customize it. The most important notes are that it crosses evenly on the underside of the joint to prevent it from hyperextending and that the smaller loops do not rest on or too close to the cuticle because it is thinner skin and can be irritated or damaged by thin wire rubbing against it for long periods.

  • Finish: I chose to wrap the ends around beads in this example, but a great alternative is to just file the edges of the wire so there's no sharp ends to catch on anything or scratch skin. When I'm feeling fancy, I'll solder things together, but I find just filing the ends or throwing on a bead is just as effective for a fast finish.


Titanium, silver, and copper rings
Titanium, silver, and copper rings

Disclaimer: This information is for general informational purposes only. All information on this site is provided in good faith, however I make no representation or warranty of any kind, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, validity, reliability, availability, or completeness of any information. This site cannot and does not contain medical/health advice. The medical/health information is provided for general informational and educational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional advice. Accordingly, before taking any actions based upon such information, I encourage you to consult with the appropriate professionals. I do not provide any kind of medical/health advice. The reliance of any information contained on the site is solely at your own risk and I have no liability to you for any loss or damage of any kind incurred as a result of the use of the site or reliance on any information provided on the site.

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page